How to renew your driver's license in Florida

Licenses in the state of Florida are valid for 8 years and once the expiration date approaches, they must be renewed. The process for renew your driving license in florida It is quite simple, in this article we will tell you what the requirements are and the steps to follow. We will also explain how to request an appointment to carry out your management and how much you will have to pay in taxes.

Before starting the procedure Florida driver's license renewalkeep in mind that there are cases where the license cannot be renewed. If for certain reasons you are no longer eligible to receive your license or if you have not responded to a court action related to a traffic violation, you will not be able to renew your driving license. Also, you will not be able to renew it if your license has been suspended, revoked or canceled.

How to Renew a Driver's License in Florida

Types of driving licenses in the United States

📰 Contents
  1. Renew your license in Florida: procedure and requirements
    1. How to renew your Florida driver's license
    2. What is needed to renew a Florida driver's license?
    3. License renewal requirements for older drivers
    4. Military extension cards
  2. Florida driver's license appointment
    1. What if I can't make an appointment?
  3. How much does it cost to renew your license in Florida?

Renew your license in Florida: procedure and requirements

Next, we will explain the options available to you for renewing your Florida driver's license and tell you what the requirements are so that you can go through your process easily and without setbacks. But first you should know that:

  1. In Florida, you can renew your standard (non-commercial) license up to 18 months before the expiration date. If you have a commercial license (CDL) you can renew it up to 12 months before its expiration date.
  2. In this state there is no grace period, this means you can be fined even if your license has only expired one day.

How to renew your Florida driver's license

There are four ways to complete the Florida license renewal process:

  1. Renew your Florida driver's license in person. To complete the application in person, you must visit a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) office. click here to locate the nearest office.
  2. Renew Florida Driver's License Online, via tool GoRenew.com in Spanish.
  3. Renew your Florida license by phone, through the number 1-866-467-3639.
  4. License renewal by post: Only military personnel stationed outside the state can apply for a license extension by post to the following address:
  • Credential Services Office
  • 2900 Apalachee Pkwy, MS 92
  • Tallahassee, FL 32399

While online renewal is perhaps the fastest option, you should be aware of the following restrictions in this regard. You will not be able to renew your Florida driver's license online if:

  • The last time you renewed your license, you did it online, by mail or by phone
  • If you are not a US citizen or permanent resident
  • If the license you are renewing is a Commercial Driver's License (CDL)

What is needed to renew a Florida driver's license?

To renew your driving license in Florida you will be asked to meet the following requirements:

  • You must relinquish your current license
  • Proof of identity and residence, for this you can present a passport or a birth certificate, naturalization documents or your permanent residence card.
  • Prove your social security number is valid, this can be done with a valid driver's license, you can also show your school records or a marriage certificate.
  • Prove your Florida residence and address. You will need to provide two valid documents for this. These could be:
    • A Florida voter registration card
    • A payment receipt with your address.
    • Vehicle registration form.
  • You must take and pass an eyesight test
  • Provide two approved documents as proof of your address if it has been changed
  • If your name has changed, you must provide approved documents that establish your new name.
  • If you have not been issued your driver's license in person since January 1, 2010, you must bring a primary ID, two proofs of address and a proof of your Social Security number.

Check the FLHSMV page for more details on the documents to renew the license. The requirements may be different if you are Canadian, immigrant or non-immigrant (a person temporarily residing in the United States).

Do travelers need a star to travel with a driving license?

License renewal requirements for older drivers

If you are 80 or older, you need to renew your license every six years. You must also pass an eyesight test to get renewed. You can take this vision test at the FLHSMV office during the renewal process or, if you prefer, you can take it elsewhere.

Military extension cards

This extension only applies to Class E licenses. To use the extension card, you must also bring your driver's license and military identification.

Requirements for applying for the military extension card:

Requirements can be presented by:

  1. E-mail: MilitaryID@flhsmv.gov
  2. Fax: (850) 617-5034
  3. By post to the following address:
  • Credential Services Office
  • 2900 Apalachee Pkwy, MS 92
  • Tallahassee, FL 32399

Once the requirements have been submitted, the application process can take approximately two weeks. If your military extension card is approved, it will be mailed to you at the address indicated on the application.

Florida driver's license appointment

If you want to make an appointment at the FLHSMV to renew your license, you must go to locations page. In this section you can see all available counties and offices, as shown in the following image.

Select your county to get information on available offices - Photo: flhsmv.gov en espanol

By selecting the Province, the system will show you all the information about the place, the office hours in each city, the telephone numbers, the maps with the locations and the service methods. This section is very important, in this section you can see the types of service offered in each office. You will see that some have the appointment service and some do not.

If the word "appointment" or "by appointment" or "by appointment only" appears with a link in the office you are interested in, you can click to go directly to the appointment system.

Click to go to the citation system - Photo: flhsmv.gov in Spanish

When you are in the appointment system, you need to select the office and the type of procedure to perform to see the times and days available. So, you have to choose the option that suits you best.

For more information on making an appointment with Florida DHSMV, call 1-850-922-9000

What if I can't make an appointment?

If in your area they do not offer appointments to renew your license or the available hours are not suitable for your needs and you decide to do your practice in person, you can avoid long waiting times by avoiding the practice on certain days and times.

Avoid going to DHSMV during rush hour:

  • Mondays and Fridays. People tend to run errands immediately before or after a weekend.
  • Before or after a vacation or whenever the DHSMV has been closed for extended periods.
  • During the lunch hour. Many people try to manage their vehicle during rest hours.

How much does it cost to renew your license in Florida?

If you renew online, you will incur a $ 3 service fee in addition to the renewal fee. If you renew over the phone, the cost of the service is $ 2.90.

  • E-class license renewal: $ 48
  • Business License Renewal (CDL): $ 75

To get your revoked or suspended license back:

  • After a license is revoked: $ 60
  • After a license is suspended: $ 35
  • After a license has been suspended for failing to fulfill your responsibilities (pay, appear in court or a driver's training school, etc.): $ 47.50

Replacement of a lost or stolen driving license

  • License lost: $ 25
  • Stolen license that presents a police report proving it: $ 0

Renewal of an expired FL driving license

  • If your license has expired for more than a year, you will have to pay the late fee and retake the written and driving exam. There are also fees for taking these exams.

If you want to discover other articles similar to How to renew your driver's license in Florida, you can visit the Last News category.

Nathan Hamilton

Nathan Hamilton

Nathan is a car enthusiast and industry professional with decades of combined experience in the automotive sector. Along with his team of writers and researchers, all passionate about automobiles, he is committed to delivering reliable and relevant content that ranges from detailed insurance guides to maintenance tips and much more.

DISCLAIMER: By reading this, you agree to the following: you understand that this is an expression of opinions and not professional advice. You are solely responsible for the use of any content and hold harmless ©INFOCARSUSA.COM and all members and affiliates from any event or claim. The information provided on the site may contain errors, both grammatical and contextual and/or information, and we recommend that you conduct your own research through the means you deem appropriate to satisfy your search intention. If you purchase something through a link, you should assume that we have an affiliate relationship with the company providing the product or services you purchase, and we will be compensated in some way. We recommend that you conduct your own independent research before purchasing anything.

Most Read Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Go up

🍪 We use cookies to provide you with a better experience on our website. More Information